Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to LinkedIn Pinterest Email



Error: No layouts found

In March, Jonathan E. Alpert, M.D., Ph.D., joined Einstein and Montefiore as a professor and university chair of the department of psychiatry and behavioral sciences. He also assumed the Dorothy and Marty Silverman Chair in Psychiatry at Einstein. He succeeds T. Byram Karasu, M.D., who led the department for nearly 25 years.

Dr. Alpert previously served as vice chair for clinical services in psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH), where he led the behavioral health executive committee. He directed the depression clinical and research programs at MGH and was the first recipient of the Joyce R. Tedlow Chair in the field of depression studies at Harvard Medical School.

Dr. Alpert has written more than 200 publications on topics including pharmacological and other innovative approaches to treatment-resistant major depressive disorder; depressive subtypes and biomarkers; drug metabolism and drug interactions; ethical issues in the design and conduct of human studies; behavioral health integration; and medical education.

He has received numerous awards for teaching, mentorship and clinical excellence, serves on the board of the National Network of Depression Centers and is a distinguished fellow of the American Psychiatric Association.

Dr. Alpert received his M.D. from the Yale University School of Medicine and his Ph.D. in behavioral pharmacology from the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, where he was a Marshall Scholar. He completed residencies at Harvard-Boston Children’s Hospital (pediatrics) and at Harvard-McLean Hospital (psychiatry) before joining the Harvard-MGH psychiatry faculty in 1992.

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to LinkedIn Share to Pinterest Email

More From Einstein

Students Advocate for Abortion Access
First-Generation College Students Share Stories
Class of 2026 White Coat Ceremony
Scientists Honor Pioneering Researcher
Searching for Next Generation of HIV Therapies


Campus News
Research Notes
Motivations: Donors & Alumni


Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to LinkedIn Email

Past Issues

Download Magazine