Campus News

Translational Research Leader Named

Translational Research Leader Named

Physician-researcher Marla J. Keller, M.D., has been named the director of the Harold and Muriel Block Institute for Clinical and Translational Research at Einstein and Montefiore, funded by the Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) Program of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Dr. Keller will also become the principal investigator (PI) on Einstein’s CTSA grant. She has served as the associate director of the institute since 2016 and as co-PI of the CTSA since 2015.

A professor of medicine and of obstetrics & gynecology and women’s health at Einstein, Dr. Keller is also the vice chair for research in the department of medicine at Einstein and Montefiore, and an infectious-disease specialist at Montefiore.

Dr. Keller’s research interests include the prevention and treatment of HIV and herpes in adult and adolescent women. She also conducts studies to examine the effects of bacterial vaginosis, herpes, and HIV on female genital tract immunity and the vaginal microbiome.

Since the spring of 2020, Dr. Keller has been leading the COVID-19 Treatment Task Force for the department of medicine to provide guidance on therapeutic management of patients with COVID-19.

Dr. Keller holds numerous local and national leadership positions. She is a member and a fellow of the Infectious Diseases Society of America, a member of the HIV Medicine Association, and a scientific member of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Panel on Antiretroviral Guidelines for Adults and Adolescents Living with HIV.

She also serves as a scientific member of the NIH’s COVID-19 Treatment Guidelines Panel, established by Anthony Fauci, M.D., in the spring of 2020.

More From Einstein

Preparing New Grads for Hospital Roles
Einstein Celebrates 65th Commencement
Class of 2027 Receives White Coats
Mentoring in Medicine Paves Way for Success
Biomedical Sciences Leadership Program Begins
Einstein, Lehman Launch M.S. Program
2023 National Diversity Award
Health Equity Scholarship Honors Nilda Soto
Longevity Gene Project Awarded $13.6M


Campus News
Research Notes
Motivations: Donors & Alumni
More From This Issue

Past Issues

Download Magazine



  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.